Social Media

Tuesday, 16 April 2013

ADSS appoints new president

Written by The Editorial Team
A new president has been appointed for the Association of Directors of Adult Social Services.The new president is Sandie Keene, director of adult social services with Leeds City Council.

Changes to senior positions at ADASS will be taking effect on 17 April 2013, at the association's annual general meeting held at Warwick University.

Sandie has been director of adult social services with Leeds since 2007, and has previously been regional chair for the Yorkshire and Humberside ADASS region, as well as assistant honorary secretary to the Association.

Mrs Keene said: “It is an extremely challenging time to have been elected to this important post. The impact of austerity, the implications of integration, new legislation and the spread and improvement of personalised services are all significant issues, each one of which would easily make for a demanding year even in normal circumstances!

“ADASS has seen, in the previous two years, its policies towards law reform, the Care and Support Bill and the development of long-term funding settlement post Dilnot beginning to bear fruit. There could never have been a more difficult economic climate to undertake this massive overhaul of the care system, and it’s a tribute to the leadership of our members that the sector as a whole has risen to these challenges despite the financial difficulties.”

She praised ADASS’s new extended group of members from local authorities and commended their work, highlighting their contribution to the Association over many years.

ADASS’s new vice president, Linda Sanders is currently corporate director of social care and health with DASS and DCS roles at Hillingdon, in London.

Ms Sanders started her career as a social science graduate in the Coventry social services department in 1976 in residential and day care.

Since October 2010 she has also been co-chair of the ADASS physical disabilities network.

Sarah Pickup, who served as president from 2012-2013 is the association’s new immediate past president.