Social Media

Friday, 28 October 2016

Scottish Care announce finalists for 2016 awards ceremony in Glasgow

Written by The Editorial Team

The finalists have now been shortlisted by judges for the 2016 Scottish Care - Care Awards.

The winners will be announced at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow on Friday 18th November as part of the organisations 'National Care Home Conference, Exhibition & Care Awards' which recognise the contributions of companies and individuals to the care sector.

The theme of the conference this year is 'Care Homes at the Heart'. Speakers include Sir Lewis Ritchie who will be discussing “Reshaping Clinical Care“, Cabinet Secretary Shona Robison, Rami Okasha of the Care Inspectorate who will be discussing Human Rights based Regulation and Dr Martin Wilson who will be discussing palliative care.

Scottish Care – Care Awards 2016 Finalists 

Ancillary & Support Staff Award

  • Alex Ross, Quayside Care Home - BUPA
  • Ella Douglas, Fairview Care Home - HC-One
  • Stephen McGrath, Southview Care Home - Thistle

Nutrition & Eating Well Award

  • Bev Woodman, Allan Dickson & Kelly Atkinson, Annan Court Care Home - Advinia Care
  • Mosswood Care Home - Pacific Care
  • Catering Team - Rubislaw Park Care Home

Meaningful Activity Award 

  • Mandy Kennedy, Carlingwark House - Community Integrated Care
  • Jackie Ross, Innis Mhor Care Home - Parklands
  • Activities Team (Callum O’Donnell & Kari Hartmann), Camilla House - Embrace

Training & Staff Development Award

  • Linda Matheson, Nisha Sujeewon, Jill Scoular, Southview Care Home - Thistle
  • Wendy Adams, St Modans Care Home - Meallmore
  • Balhousie Care Group

Innovative Practice

  • Quality Improvement Project Team, Southview Care Home - Thistle
  • Wheatlands Care Home - Balhousie
  • Carlingwark House - Community Integrated Care

Volunteer Award

  • Mary Macmillan, Bankview Care Home - Holmes Group
  • Tom Miller - Morningside Care Home
  • Elaine Till, Birdston Care Home - Pacific Care

Care Home Resident Achievement

  • Peter Smyth, Three Towns Care Home - Holmes Care Group
  • Patrick McGonnigal, Greencross Care Home - Thistle
  • Jim Duffy, Fullarton Service - Loretto Care

Manager/Leader Award

  • Marshall McDowall, Fullarton Service - Loretto Care
  • Shirley McTeir, Carlingwark House - Community Integrated Care
  • Angela Martin, Whitefield Lodge Care Home - Four Seasons Healthcare

Nurse of the Year

  • Angela Baird, Forth Bay Care Home - Caring Homes
  • Agata Czerwonka, Rosepark Care Home - Balmer Care Homes
  • Martin Masterson, Fleming House, Darnley Court Care Home - BUPA
  • Freda Clark - Northlands Care Home

Carer of the Year

  • Jennifer Marshall - Marchmont Care Home
  • Mary-Jane Ross - Northlands Care Home
  • Sarah Taylor - Rubislaw Park Care Home
  • Gemma Schiller,  Annan Court -  Advinia Care

Specialist Service/Unit Award

  • Marchglen Care Home - Caring Homes
  • Interim Unit, Darnley Court - BUPA
  • Murdoch Unit - Silverburn Care

Care Home Service of the Year

  • Northlands Care Home
  • Auchtermairnie Care Home - Fairfield Care Scotland
  • Deeside Care Home

Click here for more information on the awards or ontact Scottish Care on 01292 270240.