Social Media

Tuesday, 13 May 2014

Qualifications shake up for Scottish apprenticeship scheme

Written by The Editorial Team

As a result of a new qualification structure in social services, The Scottish Social Services Council (SSSC) have made changes to the apprenticeship frameworks.

The new qualification structures have introduced new qualifications in Social Services and Healthcare at SVQ Levels 2, 3 and 4 and Social Services Children and Young people at SVQ Levels 2 ,3 and 4.  The apprenticeship frameworks are listed below.

Modern and technical apprenticeships (MAs and TAs) offer people the chance of paid employment linked with the opportunity to train across social services.  

They help apprentices gain qualifications for the skills they develop and to better meet the needs of people who use social services. The new apprenticeship frameworks reflect the needs of social services and have been revamped in line with Scottish Government’s Making Training Work Better (2011)

 and the new qualification structure.  The new frameworks will include apprenticeships at the modern and technical levels.

The Modern Apprenticeships (MA) apply to any apprenticeship offered up to and including SCQF level 7 and the Technical Apprenticeships (TA) are applied to any apprenticeship covering SCQF level 8/9.

    Modern Apprenticeships at SCQF 5 (SVQ 2)
    Modern Apprenticeships at SCQF 6/7 (SVQ 3)
    Technical Apprenticeships at SCQF 8/9 (SVQ 4).

Revised frameworks

The SSSC have managed the current frameworks since 2008 and have worked closely with employers to bring the frameworks up to date. The new frameworks in Social Services and Healthcare and Social Services (Children and Young People) have been developed in consultation with people working in social services and are:

    Social Services and Healthcare SVQ level 2 (SCQF level 6) (MA)
    Social Services and Healthcare SVQ level 3 (SCQF level 7) (MA)
    Social Services and Healthcare SVQ level 4 (SCQF level 9) (TA)
    Social Services Children and Young People SVQ level 3 (SCQF level 7) (MA)
    Social Services Children and Young People SVQ level 4 (SCQF level 9) (TA).

Purpose of the frameworks

The frameworks are designed to provide an accessible and progressive approach to the gaining of appropriate skills for new entrants and for existing workers in social services.  The changes to the frameworks and qualifications should help movement across the workforce, enabling career development and providing further flexibility both in employment and in careers.


The SSSC have been working with the Scottish Qualification Authority (SQA) and Skills Development Scotland (SDS) to ensure that no apprentices or providers are disadvantaged by the transition to the new frameworks.

For more information visit: or email Brian Smith on:

Career Profile

register care home manager picCare Home Manager

Care home managers are responsible for the day-to-day running of residential care homes. They oversee all activities within the home and make sure the quality of the service and care provided meets the National Minimum Standards...


Career Profile

music therapistMusic Therapist

Music Therapists use music and sound to help improve people's emotional wellbeing, relieve stress and improve confidence. As a music therapist, you would not teach music. Instead you would encourage clients to try...


Career Profile

nurse picMental Health Nurse

Mental health nurses work in hospital and community settings to support people with a range of mental health issues. They work closely with clients, their families, friends and carers to develop therapeutic...